Engram Earns First Team All-America Accolades

Ole Miss Tight End Becomes the 58th First Team All-American in School History
OXFORD, Miss. – The award-winning week continued for Ole Miss senior Evan Engram as he was named a first team All-America selection by Sporting News, the publication announced Wednesday afternoon. With the distinction, Engram becomes the 58th first team All-American in Ole Miss football history.
Solidifying himself as one of the best tight ends in the country, the postseason accolades have piled up for the senior. On Tuesday, the team captain was tabbed a first team All-SEC selection by the conference’s coaches to become the first Rebel in school history to earn all-conference honors all four years of his collegiate career. Earlier Wednesday, the Powder Springs, Georgia, native was named the winner of the Ozzie Newsome Award given to college football’s best tight end. Engram also took home the C Spire Conerly Trophy for the best football player in the state of Mississippi.
Engram is the nation’s leading tight end with 5.9 catches per game and 84.2 receiving yards per game. His stats also rank top three among all SEC players of any position in both catches and yards per game. Engram started all 11 games as a team captain before missing the Egg Bowl due to an injured hamstring. Closing out his Ole Miss career, he racked up 65 catches for 926 yards and eight TDs in 2016. The eight touchdown receptions rank second nationally among tight ends.
Engram’s name is etched all over the school record book as he broke numerous tight end marks. He set or tied Ole Miss records for most catches (65), yards (926) and touchdowns (8) in a season, as well as most catches (162), yards (2,320) and touchdowns (15) in a career by a tight end. Engram is the seventh Ole Miss tight end to become a first team All-American, joining the likes of Barney Poole (1947-48), Johnny Brewer (1960), Allen Brown (1964), Wesley Walls (1988), Kris Mangum (1996) and Rufus French (1998).
With Engram’s All-America status, Ole Miss has produced a first team All-American for the fourth consecutive season. Defensive tackle and first-round draft pick Robert Nkemdiche collected the honor last year, while cornerback Senquez Golson was a consensus All-American in 2014. Free safety Cody Prewitt became a first team All-America selection following the 2013 season.
Follow Ole Miss Football on Twitter (@OleMissFB), Facebook and Instagram. For more information, visit www.OleMissSports.com.
Evan Engram Award Tracker
– Ozzie Newsome Award
– C Spire Conerly Trophy
– All-America first team (Sporting News)
– All-SEC first team (Coaches, ESPN.com)
– All-SEC second team (PFF)
– SEC Community Service Team
– Senior Bowl invitee
– Senior CLASS Award finalist