Moody Named To AP All-SEC First Team

Photo by Josh McCoy - Ole Miss Athletics - @OleMissPix

Photo by Josh McCoy – Ole Miss Athletics – @OleMissPix

Second-Straight Season To Earn First-Team Honors From Media

OXFORD, Miss. – Senior Stefan Moody was named to the All-SEC first team by the Associated Press Monday. It is the second-straight season Moody has earned first-team honors from the league’s media.

Moody, who was also named to the All-SEC first team by the league’s coaches last week, is the first player since Vanderbilt’s John Jenkins in 2011 and 2012 to earn consensus (Associated Press and coaches) first team All-SEC honors in consecutive seasons.

The Kissimmee, Florida native is the first Rebel since Ansu Sesay in 1997 and 1998 to earn back-to-back first-team honors. The 2016 C Spire Howell Trophy winner, as the best men’s collegiate player in Mississippi, is the 15th All-SEC honoree under head coach Andy Kennedy, which is the third most in the league over the last 10 years trailing only Kentucky and Florida.

The fifth-fastest player in reach 1,000 career points in Ole Miss history, Moody led the SEC, and ranks sixth nationally, in scoring at 23.6 point per game. This season he became only the fifth player in Ole Miss history and the 26th player in SEC history to top 700 points in a season.

FIRST TEAM                                                        

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky, G, 5-9, So.

Ben Simmons, LSU, F, 6-10, Fr.

Stefan Moody, Ole Miss, G, 5-10, Sr.

Jamal Murray, Kentucky, G, 6-4, Fr.

Jalen Jones, Texas A&M, G-F, 6-7, Sr.


Retin Obasohan, Alabama, G, 6-2, Sr.

Michael Carrera, South Carolina, F, 6-5, Sr.

Damian Jones, Vanderbilt, C, 7-0, Sr.

Kevin Punter, Tennessee, G, 6-2, Sr.

Moses Kingsley, Arkansas, F, 6-10, Jr.


Yante Maten, Georgia, F, 6-8, So.

J.J. Frazier, Georgia, G, 5-10, Jr.

Dorian Finney-Smith, Florida, F, 6-8, Sr.

Danuel House, Texas A&M, G, 6-7, Sr.

Alex Caruso, Texas A&M, G, 6-5, Sr.


Wade Baldwin IV, Vanderbilt, G, 6-3, So.; Armani Moore, Tennessee, F, 6-4, Sr.; Gavin Ware, Mississippi State, F, 6-9, Sr.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR — Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

COACH OF THE YEAR — Billy Kennedy, Texas A&M


Daniel Snowden