Ole Miss’ Shandricka Sessom Gillom Trophy Finalist 

Ole Miss Women's Basketball vs #6 Tennessee on february 12th, 2015 in Oxford, MS. - Photo by Josh McCoy, Ole Miss Athletics Photo by Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss Athletics

Ole Miss Women’s Basketball vs #6 Tennessee on february 12th, 2015 in Oxford, MS. – Photo by Josh McCoy, Ole Miss Athletics
Photo by Joshua McCoy/Ole Miss Athletics

Award given annually to best collegiate women’s basketball player in Mississippi

JACKSON, Miss. – Ole Miss sophomore guard Shandricka Sessom (Byhalia. Miss) has been announced as a finalist for the C Spire Gillom Trophy presented annually to the top collegiate women’s basketball player in the state of Mississippi. Mississippi State’s Victoria Vivians and Delta State’s Chelsey Rhodes join Sessom as finalists.

The award is named after former Ole Miss great Peggie Gillom-Granderson. Gillom’s name is etched in the Ole Miss record books as she still stands as Ole Miss’ top scorer and rebounder. Gillom also served as an associate head coach for seven years at Ole Miss and spent time as an Olympic and WNBA coach.

Sessom, one of six players from the Magnolia state on the Ole Miss women’s basketball roster, has had a breakout sophomore campaign.  Averaging 15.5 points per game, Sessom has led the Rebels in scoring throughout the 2015-16 campaign and has posted a team-best 24 games in double figures and has led the team in scoring on 14 occasions. The No. 6 scorer in the ever-competitive SEC, Sessom has topped 20 points on seven occasions this season and posted a career-best 28 points against Arkansas Pine-Bluff and scored 26 points against the No. 3/2 South Carolina Gamecocks – the most points scored by an individual against the two-time SEC champions. Sessom, who averaged 5.3 points per game as a freshman, increased her scoring output by nearly 10 points in her sophomore campaign and is averaging 5.3 rebounds per game and is shooting 29.0 percent from long range on the year.

A statewide panel of media who cover college basketball in the state of Mississippi selected the finalists and will vote among the finalists for the winner. Their votes accounted for 90 percent of the final voting and fan voting, conducted by C Spire, and accounted for a weighted 10 percent of the final voting.

Fan voting will begin on Tuesday, March 1 at 8:30 a.m. CST and ends on Sunday, March 6 at 8:30 a.m. CST. Fans can vote for their favorite college basketball player by visiting www.csopavoting.com, providing an email address and name, or connecting through Facebook or Twitter. Once an account is created, voting can begin and fans can choose their first, second and third place winners. Fans will be able to vote via Facebook, Twitter and text messaging and can submit up to three votes per day during the six-day voting period.

For ticket information go to OleMissTix.com or call the Ole Miss Ticket Office at 1-888-REB-TKTS (732-8587). For all Ole Miss women’s basketball news and information, go to OleMissSports.com, and follow the Rebels on Twitter at @OleMissWBB and on Facebook at Ole Miss Women’s Basketball. Fans can also follow Ole Miss women’s basketball head coach Matt Insell on Twitter at @minsell.


Media Contact:
Jessica Poole